City of Roseburg votes to accept Douglas County Library deed

Douglas County Library headquarters building in Roseburg, May 31, 2017. (File/SBG photo)

ROSEBURG, Ore. -- During a Roseburg City Council meeting, the council voted to accept the deed of the Douglas County library facility, Douglas County officials said.

After months of work with the Library Futures Task Force and the Douglas Communities Library Association, Roseburg is well on its way to providing library services, the County said in a news release, adding that Douglas County Commissioners are looking forward to reviewing the City’s proposal and moving forward.

Commissioner Gary Leif has been a liaison to the LFTF and DCLA in hopes that Douglas County could reopen all eleven libraries.

“I think it’s really great that the community came together to make this work, and it shows how much the city and community care about providing quality library services,” Leif said. “It really shows, not only in Roseburg, that communities want to be involved, and I am so glad I could be a part of this growth, along with the other Commissioners in Douglas County.”

Of the 11 libraries, the Roseburg location was the only building owned by the county.

Nine of the eleven libraries have reopened to offer library services: Yoncalla, Reedsport, Oakland, Sutherlin, Myrtle Creek, Canyonville, Glendale, Winston, and Riddle.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off