Douglas High's Spurlin named FWL's best

The top honors in Far West League softball both went to Douglas High School.

First year coach Anne Blodgett was named coach of the year and senior outfielder Nicki Spurlin was selected as player of the year. The Trojans lost the first five games of the season before reeling off 11 consecutive wins on their way to the league title.

Joining Spurlin on the first team were teammates Sadie Birch (IF) and Geniva Johnson (OF) along with five Sutherlin players. They included Chey Malinoff (P), Tiffani Rosemeyer (C), Shannon Sloniker (1B), Kylie Atterbury (IF) and Kelsea Knee (IF).

Douglas had five more players named to the second team with Bre Parr (P), Shai Holcomb (P), Mikala Dupper (C), Ana Dupper (1B) and Haley Dahms (IF). Other second teamers were South Umpqua's Renae Schofield (P) and Haliegh Gallego (IF); and Natasha Kress (IF) and Jen Hults (OF) of Sutherlin.

SU's Bri Bohnenkamp (C) and Morgyn Cupp (IF) were named honorable mention.