Company recalls dried fruit

ALBANY, Ore. - Oregon Freeze Dry Inc. has voluntarily recalled 59,780 cases of Kirkland Signature Real Sliced Fruit produced for Costco Wholesale Stores and distributed to 36 states and one territory.

The company did not list Oregon nor Washington among the states that received the products subject to recall.

In cooperation with Costco, the company issued the recall after determining the product has the potential to be contaminated with Salmonella.

Precautionary recall measures began on Saturday, March 8, 2014.

Consumers who may have purchased the product were contacted by phone and US. Mail, and a letter regarding the voluntary recall was posted on the Costco website.

The affected product was removed from Costco floors.

No confirmed cases of Salmonella poisoning from consumption of this product have been reported at this time, the company said.

Any Kirkland Signature Real Sliced Fruit that is currently available for purchase has been rigorously tested and is safe for consumption.

No other products made by Oregon Freeze Dry, Inc. are affected.

Kirkland Signature Real Sliced Fruit is sold in a red and white case containing 20 pouches of freeze-dried snacks.

Consumers who have purchased Kirkland Signature Real Sliced Fruit with the following "Best Before Dates," listed on the upper left corner of the front panel of the case, are urged to return the product to the place of purchase for a full refund.

Best Before Date: FEB 14 2015 - MAR 11 2015 (which reads FEB142015 - MAR112015)

Customers with questions may contact the company at or 1-888-641-2933 (this line is staffed Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. PDT).

Cases of the potentially contaminated Kirkland Signature Real Sliced Fruit were distributed to Costco Wholesale stores in Alabama, Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin, and Puerto Rico.